Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

sprungmarken_marker_155

The "reFuels – Rethinking Fuels" Project

To estimate the potential of regenerative fuels (reFuels), a holistic assessment is required. Within the “reFuels – Rethinking Fuels” project under the auspices of the state of Baden-Württemberg, companies in the energy and mineral oil sectors and in automotive and supply industries, together with KIT, study efficiency potentials for the production and use of reFuels. The project focuses on both use in diesel and Otto engines. The range of engines extends from small cars to trucks, to special vehicles and from the diesel engine for rail and inland waterway transport to engines for decentralized energy supply.

To produce sufficient amounts of fuel components, pilot plants that already are in operation are used. The project considers both systemic and socioeconomic aspects of the production and use of the fuels. Particular attention is paid to the dialog with civil society in order to foster open communication to the society.

The project started in January 2019 and is scheduled for a duration of two years.

 

Project Goals

  • Supplying regeneratively produced fuels (reFuels) in amounts sufficient for small fleet tests
     
  • Holistic analysis of processes for the production and use of reFuels
     
  • Assessing (application) properties of reFuels
     
  • Demonstrating reFuels in use
     
  • Integrating actors of civil society
     
  • Communication to society
     
  • reFuels are to be suited for use in all vehicles, from very old to brand new, in order to make available a quick and complementary solution for CO2-neutral mobility.

 

Project Structure: From Production to Application

The project based in Baden-Württemberg is the only project of this kind that integrates all relevant actors in the supply chain: Industry and utilities, a refinery, automotive and industry suppliers, systems developers, engine and vehicle manufacturers, an established science institution, and a state government that pushes the transition in the mobility sector by its “Strategy Dialog for the Automotive Sector in Baden-Württemberg” – a real advantage that will help manage the complex change of mobility.
 

From Production to Application


The holistic project approach covers three parts:

  1. Energy-related analysis and potentials of the synthesis of reFuels
  2. Safety of use of reFuels
  3. Communication of the findings obtained to all partners

Home  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

sprungmarken_marker_155

Das Projekt "reFuels - Kraftstoffe neu denken"

Um das Potenzial von regenerativen Kraftstoffen (reFuels) einschätzen zu können, ist eine ganzheitliche Bewertung von diesen erforderlich. In dem Projekt „reFuels – Kraftstoffe neu denken“ untersuchen Unternehmen der Energie- und Mineralölwirtschaft, der Automobil- und der Zulieferindustrie gemeinsam mit dem KIT unter der Schirmherrschaft des Landes Baden-Württemberg Effizienzpotenziale für die Herstellung und Anwendung von reFuels. Dabei betrachten sie sowohl den Einsatz in Diesel- als auch in Otto-Motoren: Das Motorenprogramm reicht vom Kleinwagen über Lkw und Spezialfahrzeuge, vom Dieselmotor für Schiene und Binnenschifffahrt bis hin zu Motoren für die dezentrale Energieversorgung.

Um Kraftstoffkomponenten in ausreichendem Umfang herzustellen, werden bereits in Betrieb befindliche Pilotanlagen genutzt. Außerdem werden sowohl systemische und sozioökonomische Aspekte für die Produktion und Anwendung der Kraftstoffe berücksichtig, als auch der Dialog mit der Zivilgesellschaft gesucht, um eine offene Kommunikation in die Gesellschaft zu fördern.

Das Projekt startete im Januar 2019 und ist auf zwei Jahre festgesetzt.

Ziele des Projekts

  • Regenerativ hergestellte Kraftstoffe (reFuels) in Mengen für kleine Flottentests bereitstellen
     
  • Verfahren zur Herstellung und Nutzung von reFuels ganzheitlich bewerten
     
  • (Anwendungs-)Eigenschaften der reFuels bewerten
     
  • In der Anwendung demonstrieren
     
  • Zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure einbinden
     
  • In die Gesellschaft kommunizieren
     
  • reFuels sollen von allen Fahrzeugen – von uralt bis nagelneu – getankt werden können, um eine schnelle, ergänzende Lösung für eine CO2-neutrale Mobilität zu schaffen

Projektstruktur: Von der Erzeugung zur Anwendung

Das in Baden-Württemberg angesiedelte Projekt kann auf eine einzigartige Basis mit allen relevanten Akteuren der Lieferkette zugreifen: Wirtschaft und Industrie der Energieversorger, Raffinerie, Automobil- und Industriezulieferer, Systementwickler, Motoren- und Fahrzeughersteller, eine etablierte Wissenschaftseinrichtung sowie eine Regierung, die den Wandel der Mobilität durch den „Strategiedialog Automobilwirtschaft Baden-Württemberg“ vorantreibt – ein echter Vorteil, um dem komplexen Wandel der Mobilität zu begegnen.

Von der Erzeugung zur Anwendung
Von der Erzeugung zur Anwendung


Um den ganzheitlichen Ansatz ermöglichen zu können, setzt sich das Projekt aus drei Bereichen zusammen:
 

  1. Die energetische Betrachtung und Fähigkeit der reFuels-Synthese
  2. Sicherheit bei der reFuels-Nutzung
  3. Kommunikation der gewonnenen Erkenntnisse an alle Beteiligten